Round 2!.. The South vs. the Winter Weather Mayhem (Update for the week…)

Hey guys!  I know it’s been a little bit since my last post but, I’m sure you’ve heard, we’ve had a ‘round 2’ of unusual winter weather here in the south and this time it came with friends – sleet, rain, ice and, believe it or not, another layer of snow.  I have not experienced a mix like that in years and, boy, was I unprepared for the mess I was going to run in to.  The kids were released early from school, just before the snow began to fall (pretty thick might I add) and we decided to get comfortable.  I had been watching the news all morning in anticipation of what was to come because it was a pretty nice morning but very cold.  Forty-five minutes later it seemed like the sky dropped everywhere.  I’m telling you the atmosphere changed so quickly we couldn’t believe it.  So I was watching everything unfold on the television and decided to call my husband to see how he was doing on the job.  They originally decided to close their doors around 6 that evening but little did they and all of us know how serious it was about to get.  It literally only took 30 minutes before the snow had reached two to three inches while the sleet and rain fell.  Traffic was straight chaotic because everyone was trying to get home at the same time and the road conditions were quickly becoming dangerous.  North Carolina had never seen winter weather to this degree but I must say the state was well prepared and did a great job, in spite of the overwhelming results.  So, shortly after I spoke with my husband the first time, he calls me back and tells me that they were closing within a half hour.  We only have one car at the moment so I came up with the genius idea of “attempting” to go and get him.  Again, I did not realize how serious everything was even on the streets in my area until I actually pulled out onto the main road.  I also did not realize how useless two-wheel drive would be to me on that day because less than a mile down the street my truck gets stuck in the now-five-inch snow.  Oh, I wasn’t the only one.  There were quite a few vehicles sliding and getting trapped in the snow.  There was little to no traction for many people on the road so in the end, we were instructed by the authorities to abandon our vehicles.  So, of course, my husband and I had to walk all the way home.  I never made it to pick him up, by the way, so he walked over seven miles home, while I walked just under a mile down the street.

This was my walk home in the middle of five-inch snow and heavy wind…

     

So me and my poor husband, with our aching joints and limbs from trekking through the city streets, came home and the only thing we wanted to do was get warm and sleep.  So, yes, we had a very interesting couple of days following, as you could imagine.  And, yes, we are very grateful for the sixty-degree weather we’ve had over the last few days since that winter storm last week.  I did recover my car a couple of days later.  It was safely parked so I wasn’t out of sorts about it.  Besides, IT WASN’T LIKE I COULD GO ANYWHERE! So we just used those following days in doors to prepare for our move into our new home which is now officially six days away.  I am soooo excited!.. all of us.

This move is pretty cool because it’s given me quite a bit to share with all you entrepreneurs needing tips on how you can transition your home-based business for a move or relocation.  Get ready for this series of posts coming over the next couple of weeks.  In the meantime, my next post should be just as helpful as I’ll be sharing tips on organizing the world of cords in your home-based business space.

Until then… enjoy the weekend, guys!

P.S.  Here’s another pic from my walk during the storm.  Did I mention that I was wearing Crocs, a thin jacket, and a tank shirt?  Two words… Never Again!

– Sy

Leave a Reply

