Home-based Business Moving/Relocation series (Pt.2): Declutter while you move… how?

TheElephantInMyRoom.net  TheElephantInMyRoom.net

In the previous post I shared how important it is to consider the size of your new space in order to determine if it will fit your specific storage needs.  When I was searching for my new home, I knew that we needed to consider not only the items that were in my apartment but also the items that were in my storage unit.  And coming from an apartment, if I was going to pay for more room, I at least wanted to get something that was going to accommodate everything I had without the added expense of off-site storage.  I posted a pic of what my storage unit looked like prior to me decluttering it about two years ago.

TheElephantInMyRoom.net

We had a 5×5-inch unit that housed a combination of seasonal items, personal items, business supplies, and memorabilia.  Yeah… a lot for such a small space.  But by cutting some time out of my schedule on an early, Saturday morning, I was able to purge many of the items that I acquired over the years.  Now when I say “purge”, I mean I removed the items that I no longer needed or loved in different ways… not necessarily trashing things.  Some items I donated, sold, gave to friends, or recycled.  My new home came with an attached garage and now everything we needed to store in the house fit perfectly.

TheElephantInMyRoom.net

Preeetty goodSmile.  The garage is a work in progress but it’s blessing my family right now… and our pockets.

All of this leads to my next moving tip… decluttering.  This is the perfect opportunity to declutter your home as well as your home-based business spaces.  Save yourself another headache of transitioning to a new place with a ton of items, much of which you probably forgot you had and don’t need.  Some of those things you may find useful in your new place because you may not have had a chance or the space to use them.  But be sure you actually need those particular items.  My philosophy is if you have to make it work in your space then you don’t need it.  You have to have a genuine need for them.  Apply this to your business items as well.  You have enough to deal with as far as household items, let alone your business items.

Check and recheck your business inventory.  Be mindful of expiration dates and low supply.  Discard damaged or unsellable items.  Wait to restock or reorder after you get settled in.  This will make your transition much easier – less to transport equals less stress.  As far as the inventory you currently have in your stock, pack and label the moving boxes according to how you typically store them so that it will be as simple as just taking them out of the box.  Pay special care to any temperature-sensitive items.  If you have to change the current system of organization that you have to accommodate your new space then refer back to the photos you took of the new space and create a plan.  (You can refer back to my post on creating a plan to get organized – – Smile.)

When it comes to your office supply, you can actually have too much.  For example, if your desk caddy is overloaded with pens, pencils, and paper clips then, yeah, it’s probably time to let a few go.

Create defined areas in your current space such as a “Keep” area, a “Donations” area, a “Trash” area, and a “Storage” area (for those who find that you may still need additional storage for things like business inventory or you are moving into a smaller space).  You can then label the boxes or items within the “Keep” area based on the specific places you want them to be in your new home.  For example, you may have toiletries and bath towels in the “Keep” area, so box and label them as Bathroom or Linen Closet.  Box and label like items together… in other words, pack your items according to where you actually store or use them.  Remember, you want to keep it as simple as taking them out of the box.

Well, since we’re talking a lot about boxes, I thought it would be a great opportunity to dig into some tips on those.

Are those cardboard boxes really as good for moving as we have made them to be?… Hmmmm.  More on that on the next post…

– Sy

Leave a Reply

